Freaks and Geeks

                                         

While the writer’s strike is slowly dragging along I took the opportunity to catch up on some of televisions forgotten shows with my Netflix account.

I honestly didn’t know what to expect when I started Freaks and Geeks. My friend highly recommended it to me, but it was canceled by NBC before its first season was even complete. So how could it be good, right? After completing the series I’ve realized that either NBC and other major television studios have absolutely no clue what the fuck they are doing or the average tv viewer is half retarded. I have a feeling that both are the culprits here. I mean just think of the brilliant tv shows like Arrested Development and Undeclared that got cancelled in there prime and it will make you shudder to think about the decade of Everybody Loves Raymond debauchery.

The show starts off slow but as it progresses you will be amazed at how well developed each character becomes. The laughs come sporadically, but when they do you realize it was totally worth the wait. There’s no laugh track or awkward pauses to queue you to laugh either, the humor is largely situational. One of my favorite parts of the series is when Seth Rogen’s character, Ken, ponders if he is gay when he finds out his girlfriend is a hermaphrodite. Click continue reading to read the rest of my review!

The cast of the show is incredibly talented and today the casting sheet reads like a who-who of Hollywood “it” actors. James Franco, Seth Rogen, Ben Stiller, Shia Labeouf, and Jason Segel all make appearances throughout the series. I really do like all of their performances, but my favorite character out of them all is Samm Levine who plays Neal Schweiber in the show. Neal is a 40-something-coffee-addicted-comedy-freak-show trapped in a teenager’s body and each episode is populated with his gems of wisdom.

I could go on and on about this show; don’t even get me started on the music! Rush, Styx, the Who, Led Zeppelin, and the Grateful Dead are all featured on the show. I actually got the Grateful Dead’s album American Beauty after hearing a song on the show and it’s bombtastic.

If you haven’t figured it out already I highly recommend this show. Buy it, rent it, download it, steal it, do what you need to do to watch it!

1 Comment

Filed under review, TV

One response to “Freaks and Geeks

  1. lindasherman

    Saw your blog link on Twitter.
    I totally missed this show. I’ll check it out.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

