Stat of the Month: Stars win Championships Edition

Since one year after the award was first awarded in 1956, only five teams have ever won an NBA Championship without a player who won or would win a regular-season MVP award.

Those teams:
1975 Golden State Warriors- Ric Barry got close, but never won one

1979 Seattle SuperSonics (RIP)- Dennis Johnson was the Finals MVP, and I can’t recall him ever getting heavy consideration

1989/1990 Detroit Pistons- Isiah never won one.

2004 Detroit Pistons- There’s still a little time, but I sincerely doubt it.

That’s forty-eight out of fifty-three NBA Championship teams and 48/50 for non-Pistons champions.

Leave a comment

Filed under Danny, NBA Basketball

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s